

Executive Team – minutes

2 December 2021

Details of attendees are provided at the end of these minutes.

1. Introductions and apologies

All ET members were present.

2. Declarations of interest

There were no declarations of interest.

3. Minutes of the last meeting

The minutes of the last meeting had been approved by email.

4. Follow up from Board effectiveness exercise

Discussion

Paul Arnold gave an oral update on follow-up actions from Board effectiveness exercise which had been conducted earlier in the year. This focused on the regular assurance information which ET required to be assured on the work of the organisation and ensuring a strong connection between ET and the SLT Boards, and commitment to a quarterly ET planning day to consider long-term matters.

ET particularly discussed whether it was more beneficial for ET members to attend more SLT Board meetings or whether matters should be routinely escalated from SLT Boards to ET; the importance of future-looking products in enabling ET to consider medium and long-term discussions; and the frequency that ET should meet informally.

5. Prioritisation approach: strategic assessment; regulatory priorities; prioritisation framework

Discussion

James Dipple-Johnstone made a presentation setting out the prioritisation approach, ahead of a similar discussion at Management Board in January 2022. ET welcomed the approach and particularly discussed quantifying communications considerations in prioritisation and factoring in case law

in prioritisation decisions and alignment to strategic change and transformation work.

6. Annual report - options

Discussion

Louise Byers attended the meeting to present a report setting out the options for the preparation of the Annual report and Financial Statements for 2021/22.

Decision

ET approved the recommended approach set out in the report.

7. Executive Team work programme

ET noted a report setting out the work programme for future ET meetings.

8. Any other business

There were no items of other business.

Attendance

Members

Paul Arnold (Chair), Claudia Berg, Stephen Bonner, James Dipple-Johnstone, Jen Green, Steve Wood

Attendees

Angela Balakrishnan, Louise Byers (for item 6)

Secretariat

Chris Braithwaite